Charlotte-DeSoto Building Industry Association Announces Annual Award Recipients

On December 2, 2017, the Charlotte-DeSoto Building Industry Association Nomination Committee announced the following winners of the annual builder, sub-contractor, associate and member of the year award:

Builder of the Year was awarded to Jonathan Kapper, President of Kapper Contracting. Jonathan, who specializes in total home renovations and build-outs, is at every jobsite working with his customers. Jonathan is very involved with each project, doing most of the work himself with his team by his side. Jonathan was also the 2017 CDBIA Vice President and was very involved in many of the CDBIA events, meetings and committees.

Sub-Contractor of the Year was awarded to Melanie Markel, Array of Cabinets. Melanie has been a member of the CDBIA since 2011, and helped chair and co-chair the Rockin & Reelin Fishing Tournament. Melanie is also a past chair of the CDBIA Membership Committee and is the 2018 CDBIA Treasurer. Melanie offers guidance to many rising industry leaders. Melanie is also very involved with the Florida Home Builders Association.

Associate of the Year was awarded to Penny McIlwain of L&W Supply. Penny has been a part of the CDBIA since 2008. She serves on the P.A.L.M Home Committee and has been a huge help with many of the CDBIA events. Penny was installed as a CDBIA Board of Director in 2016 and will be the 2018 CDBIA Secretary.

The Member of the Year award was given to two members. Sharon Neuhofer, Coldwell Banker Sunstar Realty and Odette Embury, People’s Mortgage, a division of People’s State Bank both were honored with this high distinction for their unwavering dedication to the CDBIA family. Both Sharon and Odette represent the CDBIA locally and are involved in Governmental Affairs and co-chair the CDBIA Spike Club. Sharon and Odette also represent the local building industry at meetings for the Florida Home Builders Association.

Anna Crapet, Bacon’s Furniture, was awarded the President’s Award by 2017 CDBIA President Patrick Lewis (Sharp Development of SWFL), and Penny McIlwain of L&W Supply was awarded the P.A.L.M award, an award given to one individual who serves as a leader to students who want a future in the building industry.

Presto Air  was the proud recipient of the CDBIA Circle of Excellence award presented to one CDBIA associate member for doing a high percentage of business with CDBIA members and utilizing the benefits of their membership from Charlotte– DeSoto Building Industry Association, Florida Home Builders Association and National Association of Home Builders. Presto Air is owned by Bill and Mellisa Ginn

Please help us congratulate our winners. For more information about the CDBIA the 2017 awards winners, please visit

Scroll to Top
Skip to content