Manatee-Sarasota Building Industry Association (MSBIA) Installs New Officers and Directors for 2016-2017

The Manatee-Sarasota Building Industry Association (MSBIA) installed its new Officers and Directors for 2016-2017 at The Riverside Reef & Grill in Palmetto, FL, on November 10, 2016. The installation was presided over with the help of Vanessa Baugh, Chairwoman of the Manatee County Commission, installing the Officers and Directors for the Board.  New President, Bill Smock, Gator Plumbing Inc., was installed by Al Zichella, 2011 Florida Home Builders Association (FHBA) President. Amiee Rothrock of First International Title, and newly installed Director for the MSBIA Board, helped to preside over the recognition of new Spike Club Members, Milestone Spike Club Members and the Big Spike Awards. The installation was witnessed by a crowd of (100) + members, including (13) past Presidents and (7) 2nd Vice Presidents of the MSBIA. Well-wishers and friends of the MSBIA included re-elected and newly elected Manatee County Commissioners: Betsy Benac, Priscilla Trace and Steve Jonsson. NAHB National Area Chairman & FHBA Past President Chuck Fowke, as well as NAHB Associate National Area Chairman Dianne Beaton were also in attendance.

Chairwoman Vanessa Baugh, received the 2016 MSBIA Defender of Housing Award recognizing courageous leaders who have demonstrated strong support for housing and MSBIA positions on key issues facing the industry.

The new Officers and Directors for the MSBIA are listed below:

Executive Officers:

  • President – Bill Smock, Gator Plumbing Inc.
  • Vice President – David Langhout, Kolter Land Development
  • Secretary – Joe Ernst, D&D Garage Doors
  • Treasurer – Michael Neal, Neal Communities
  • Past President – Jimmy Stewart, Stock Development

Builder Directors:

  • Gregg Carlson, Lee Wetherington Homes
  • Mike Johns, John Cannon Homes
  • John Carlson, CORE Construction
  • Mike Greig, Legacy Builders on the West Coast
  • Ed Wilson, Heritage Builders of West Florida

Associate Directors:

  • Chris Conley, Conley Buick GMC
  • Robbie Close, Sherwin-Williams
  • Representative Ron Reagan, Dawson Companies
  • Amiee Rothrock, First International Title

New Spike Club Members:                     

  • Lou Rendemonti, Wealth Strategies – (6) New Spike

Milestone Spike Club Members:           

  • Amiee Rothrock, International Title – (27.5) Life Spike
  • Chris Conley, Conley Buick GMC – (57) Life Spike
  • Trent Culleny, Culleny Landscape – (75) Spikes
  • Mike Kramer, Sharp Design Studios – (103.75) Spikes
  • Alan Anderson, Medallion Homes – (404.5) Spikes

Big Spike for New Members:

  • Chris Conley, Conley Buick GMC – (44) Spike Points this year / (22) New Members (57 Total Spikes)

Big Spike for Retention of Members:   

  • Bill Smock, Gator Plumbing Inc. – (22.5) Spike Retention Points (655.25 Total Spikes)

The Building Industry Association’s President’s Eagle Award Recipients for 2016:

  • Amiee Rothrock for Outstanding Leadership as Membership Committee Chairwoman
  • Joe Ernst for Outstanding Leadership of the Inaugural FHBA and NAHB Young Professional Committees


dsc_0497 dsc_0493 dsc_0485 dsc_0477 dsc_0468 dsc_0384 dsc_0333 dsc_0332 dsc_0330 dsc_0324 dsc_0430 dsc_0428 dsc_0417 

–     –     –     –

For further information please contact:
Jon Mast MPA
Chief Executive Officer
Manatee-Sarasota Building Industry Association
6983 Professional Parkway East
Sarasota, Florida 34240
(941) 907-4133 x304